30 replies to this topic

#1 Raggie

Raggie

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 September 2024 - 08:57 PM

It has been my experience that people with kit intensive hobbies tend to align along quite predictable paths. As hairy arsed men (apologies to the fragrant ladies on here) they tend to be watches, guns and guitars. And fishing, but perhaps we should sidestep those moral deviants (very kidding). I’m guilty of all of those categories.

So I absolutely refuse to believe that there are not other aficionados of the tortured string on here.

#2 Raggie

Raggie

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 September 2024 - 09:04 PM

I missed out boats, bicycles and cameras.

#3 Steve220

Steve220

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,960 posts
  • Local Club: BMC

Posted 23 September 2024 - 09:19 PM

As a man with ADHD, I have accumulated hobbies... like a hobby 😂

But I've been playing the guitar for about 30 years now. Got an 83 Strat, 2010 Gibson Les Paul and a 2019 PRS 24.

#4 Bobbins

Bobbins

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,408 posts

Posted 24 September 2024 - 02:54 AM

Yeap, it’s definitely an issue and gets expensive, not mentioning the space all this stuff takes up.

I started playing around 1979 and although there’s a few that I wish I hadn’t sold particularly a ‘65 Fender Jazzmaster, currently I’m left with 3 Strats, an ‘88 Squier (Japan), a 2000 Fender HSS (USA), a noughties era Fender assembled from mostly Eric Johnson signature hardware, and a 2013 Gibson ES335. Then also a couple of acoustics, a 2006 Taylor 414CE and a 1986 Ovation Celebrity roundback which is weirdly one of my favourites.

I’ve recently been having finger issues, probably age related, plus I injured my left hand middle finger which has messed up my playing, not that I was ever that good, but it has made me think maybe it’s time to thin things down a little.

Stu.