30 replies to this topic

#1 Rubbershorts

Rubbershorts

Stage One Kit Fitted

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 26 July 2024 - 08:16 PM

Hi guys, just been for a 25 mile spin, after changing plugs, leads etc, on West Yorkshires finest twisty country lanes. Had a peek at the plugs when I returned. I'm not too sure. I'm also no expert so would appreciate any thoughts on here concerning their colour. Their position from the radiator is numbered. 1 being next to the radiator.

Attached Files

#2 weef

weef

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts

Posted 26 July 2024 - 08:30 PM

All the insulators are a similar colour, there are slight variations but nothing too dramatic looking.

Your trip was maybe not long enough on new plugs to get a good guide, the mixture looks too lean to me.

A light coffee colour is preferable, you do not want too lean a mixture, maybe screw the jet down one flat and see what the change is.

#3 Rubbershorts

Rubbershorts

Stage One Kit Fitted

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 26 July 2024 - 08:44 PM

All the insulators are a similar colour, there are slight variations but nothing too dramatic looking.
Your trip was maybe not long enough on new plugs to get a good guide, the mixture looks too lean to me.
A light coffee colour is preferable, you do not want too lean a mixture, maybe screw the jet down one flat and see what the change is.

Thanks. What would one flat be? And is that clockwise?

#4 Rubbershorts

Rubbershorts

Stage One Kit Fitted

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 26 July 2024 - 08:51 PM

Thanks. What would one flat be? And is that clockwise?

Ah, just looked on line, it's a nut. So one flat anti clockwise would lift the needle allowing more fuel through?

#5 weef

weef

Speeding Along Now

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts

Posted 26 July 2024 - 10:42 PM