21 replies to this topic

#1 tommyboymini

tommyboymini

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 08 July 2024 - 10:44 PM

I just got my 1998 Mini Rover Paul Smith Edition this morning. It started right up off the truck and I drove it home. It was warm, but not hot outside. This afternoon it wouldn't start. It would crank over trying to start. Once or twice it sputtered. It started cranking slow so I put my charger on it set to start / charge. It stared right up, but stalled out after about 15-20 seconds. I would turn it off for about a minute and it would do the same thing. This is my first mini and I have some mechanical background, but not a ton (enough to be dangerous). The person I purchased it from said it would start when he had it in his air cooled shop, but sometimes it would have issues starting when it was warm out. He told me he replaced the fuel filter and crank sensor. He also said the relay pack looked and tested good. Any ideas?

#2 MrBrown

MrBrown

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts

Posted 09 July 2024 - 02:32 AM

I have to ask just because it happened to me. Do you have enough gas in the tank?

#3 tommyboymini

tommyboymini

Learner Driver

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 July 2024 - 03:37 AM

I have to ask just because it happened to me. Do you have enough gas in the tank?

I thought that too at first, so I added a bunch of gas from my gas can. I wasn't sure if the gauge was working, but it went up when i tried to start it.

#4 68+86auto

68+86auto

Super Mini Mad

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Local Club: Queensland Mini Car Club

Posted 09 July 2024 - 04:38 AM

Start with this:

- Charge the battery

- leave for a short time disconnected, maybe an hour.

- connect battery

- disable ignition system