9 replies to this topic

#1 dangermouse

dangermouse

On The Road

• Noobies
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 03:09 PM

Hi, i've not long bought my mini its a yellow 1984 mini city and its my pride and joy but the light on the switch facia keeps comming on its the one on the far left next to the choke and i'm not sure what it means i've done my best to check out he engine and can't see anything wrong but it is quite slow to start could this be related? i've looked in my haynes manual and unfortunatly can't find a description of what this switch/warning light is for please help?!

#2 Jules

Jules

3 Gold Star

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,016 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 03:20 PM

Dont quote me on this but if its a red switch then think its to do with brake fluid. Pm a doctor tho, Bluemini, or someone!

#3 Dom

Dom

Moved Into The Mazda

• TMF+ Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,685 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 03:38 PM

im no doctor! but that is correct, the button is indicating that you are low on brake fluid.

#4 Pavel

Pavel

Up Into Fourth

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,451 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 04:41 PM

Right, that light is indeed to show that you're low on brake fluid.. However, they are incredibly unreliable, and don't work when they should and work when they shouldn't, so check the level of brake fluid, and if it's fine, then pay no heed to the light anymore (or disconnect it if you wan't...).

Just remember to check your brakes every so often as they are the thing that keeps you from driving into things :D

#5 bluebottle

bluebottle

One Carb Or Two?

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 844 posts

Posted 07 July 2004 - 09:58 PM

that switch your all going on about has nothing directly to do with fluid level warning.